• Home
  • >>
  • Event News
  • >>
  • Navy secures overall championship at Inter Club Golf Tournament 2017

Navy secures overall championship at Inter Club Golf Tournament 2017

The Sri Lanka Navy clinched the overall championship at the Inter Club Golf Tournament 2017 on 18th March. The tournament was organized for the second time by the Sri Lanka Golf Union.

The tournament was held at the Victoria Golf and Country Resort (VGCR) in Digana, Kandy and was participated by over 100 golfers from some well-known Golf clubs in the country including, Sri Lanka Army, Sri Lanka Air Force, Victoria Golf Club and Royal Colombo Golf Club.  However, the Sri Lanka Navy emerged overall champions in the tournament beating those teams.

Incidentally, the Navy secured Overall Championship, Club Championship and several individual achievements as well. Five individual golfers excelled in ‘Longest Drive’, Nearest to Pin’, Best Net Score’, ‘Best Gross Score’, and ‘Runners Up’ categories during the tournament. The Navy had also won the 2nd Defence Services Golf Championship with an aggregate stable ford score of 223 points at Nuwara Eliya Golf Club, last year.  

The Navy golfers are being trained under the guidance of the Commander of the Navy, Vice Admiral Ravindra Wijegunaratne who is also the Chairman of Sri Lanka Navy Golf. Recently, he has been unanimously selected as Chairman of the forthcoming 11th World Military (CISM) Golf Championship which is scheduled to be played in November, Sri Lanka with the participation of more than 15 countries. Further SLN Golf id privileged to have its own nine-hole Golf course in Trincomalee and a fully-fledged Aqua Golf Driving Range was established in Welisara with the initiatives of the Commander of the Navy, for practice purposes.

Award Winners at Inter Club Golf Tournament 2017

1          Nearest to the Pin                             OD      GVC   Udayanga     

2          Longest Drive                                     AB      RMS   Rupasinghe

3          Men Best Score runner up               PTI      WM    Waiddyarathna

4          Best Net Score Champ                    OD      T          Shiwakumar 

5          Best Gross Score runners up         OD      T          Shiwakumar