The volunteer Naval Force proudly celebrates the 66th anniversary

The volunteer Naval Force of the Sri Lanka Navy, proudly celebrated its 66th anniversary at Sri Lanka Naval Ship Lanka in Welisara, today (9th January). The occasion which was commenced with the religious observances, was graced by the Commanding Officer of the Volunteer Naval Force Commodore (VNF) Jayarathna Wijekoon as the chief guest.

A large number of senior& junior officers and senior & junior sailors were also attend in the several activities including a Barakana (Traditional Naval lunch) organized in view of celebrating the anniversary.

The Headquarters of the Ceylon Naval Volunteer Force (CNVF) was established at Kochchikade on 11th October 1939. At the beginning, they were deployed at Colombo and Trincomalee harbours for security and mine sweeping duties. Later on, in 1943 Ceylon Naval Volunteer Force was attached to the South Asian Admiralty of Royal British Navy and subsequently it was again handed over to the government of Sri Lanka as Ceylon Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve (CRNVR).

Under the provisions provided by the Navy Act No 34 of 1950 (Legislative Enactment-358)   Royal Ceylon Volunteer Naval Force (RCVNF) was established with 21 officers and 121 sailors, on 9th January 1952. Today, it had culminated to a formidable force having a strength of 462 officers and 12000 sailors.

The first Commanding Officer of the Volunteer Naval Force was Commander GRM de Mel who rose to the rank of Rear Admiral and finally became the Commander of the Navy. The Volunteer Naval Force has been commanded by 21 Commanding Officers up to date and the present Commanding Officer is Commodore (VNF) Jayarathna Wijekoon who is a lecture in profession. Rear Admiral Niraja Attygalle performs as the present Commandant of the Volunteer Naval Force.