Southern Zone lifts Commander of the Navy’s Cup in limited over cricket tournament

The Southern Zone emerged champions of the Commander of the Navy’s Cup limited over (50) cricket tournament. The final encounter of the tournament was held between the Southern and Northern Zone teams at the Welisara Cricket Ground on 09th June 2023. The occasion was graced by the Commander of the Navy, Vice Admiral Priyantha Perera as the Chief Guest.

Teams from four zones (04), namely; the Northern, Southern, Eastern and Western took part in this exciting tournament vying for the coveted title. Accordingly, the Southern Zone, captained by Captain PS Paranawithana, beat the Northern Zone, led by Lieutenant Commander AD Weerasuriya, in the final.

Batting first, the Southern Zone team scored 89 runs (all out) in 22 overs. In reply, the Northern Zone team only managed to score 74 runs (all out) in 34.2 overs, allowing the Southern Zone to win the low-scoring encounter.

For their exceptional performances exhibited throughout the tournament, Leading Stores Assistant KBLAR Perera (Best Fielder) in the Eastern Zone, Leading Seaman INW Gunawardena (Best Batsman) in the Western Zone and Able Seaman HPTR Wijesinghe (Best Bowler) in the Northern Zone won awards. Meanwhile, Chief Petty Officer NAH De Silva of the Southern Zone was adjudged the Man of the Match in the final and Able Seaman HPTR Wijesinghe also won the award for the Player of the Tournament.

The Chief of Staff of the Navy, Rear Admiral Jayantha Kularatne, Commandant Naval Infantry Rear Admiral Jalaj Ponnamperuma, Director Sports, Commodore Roshan Athukorala, senior and junior officers and a group of sailors were also present on this occasion.