Navy wins big at “Dr Nihal Jinasena Memorial Cup Annual Sailing Regatta – 2022”

The Navy sailing team recorded many wins at the “Dr Nihal Jinasena Memorial Cup Annual Sailing Regatta – 2022” held in the alluring waters of Kapparathota, Mirissa on 03rd December 2022.

The Sailing Regatta was organised by Ruhunu Sailing Club and it was participated by 87 sailors from renowned sailing clubs in the country including spirited sailors of the Sri Lanka Navy Sailing Pool, displaying brilliant competitiveness.

In ‘Laser Radial Class’ Petty Officer PDDS Rajapaksha, Leading Seaman WAS Weerathunga and Leading Seaman JS Senavirathna won the first, second and third places respectively.

Meanwhile, Chief Petty Officer KGCUS Bandara and Fleet Chief Petty Officer KVN Dimal won the second and third places respectively in the Laser Standard Class. In ‘GP14 Class’ the second place was secured by Fleet Chief Petty Officer NGMU Ghanawardana and Able Seaman ASK Zoyza. In addition, Chief Petty Officer JMPL Jayasooriya and Leading Seaman KC De Zoyza secured the third place of the same event.

Further, Leading Seaman AMIP Atthanayaka and Leading Seaman KSK De Silva (1st), Leading Infantryman JHMPI Jayapathma and Leading Seaman SPPN Kumara (2nd) and Chief Petty Officer JHTC Appuhami and Leading Seaman KAN Kithsiri (3rd) dominated the ‘Enterprise Class’. Moreover, Leading Seaman KPP Gunawardana was the champion in “Wind Surfing”

Going by the directives of Commander of the Navy, Vice Admiral Nishantha Ulugetenne, a lot of facilities have been made available for the progress of Navy sports and the Navy athletes have made significant feats in national and international level in recent times.