Navy takes over administration authority of National Rifle Association of Sri Lanka for year 2023 to 2025

The administration authority of the National Rifle Association of Sri Lanka'(NRASL), held by the Sri Lanka Army, was taken over by the Sri Lanka Navy for the forthcoming 2 -year term of 2023 to 2025 at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 18th May 2023 at Light House Galley, Colombo.

The National Rifle Association of Sri Lanka is the controlling body for Practical Shooting, Metallic Silhouette Shooting, Sporting Clay Shooting and any other Non-Olympic Shooting Disciplines in Sri Lanka and Association is under both Ministry of Defence and Ministry of Sports.

As per the constitution of NRASL, the office administration authority of NRASL will be under supervision of Tri Forces Commanders for the two year tenure each. Accordingly, the Commander of the Navy appointed Commodore (S) Manjula Dissanayake as the President NRASL. He is a well experienced shooter and has held the Treasure and Secretary of NRASL in previous two tenures. This is the first time that an office bearer became the President, having assumed previous portfolios in those two positions. In addition, Captain DMDC Bandara (General Secretary), Commander Lalith Mudiyanse (Treasurer), Lieutenant Commander Madushika Kathriarachchi (Asst. Secretary), Lieutenant LTRWY Thambugala (Asst. Treasurer), Lieutenant GRSB Rathmale (Legal Adviser) has also been appointed from the Navy.

The meeting was conducted with the participation of 24 representatives from 13 shooting clubs across the country.