Western Naval Command emerge Inter Command Cricket Champions 2023

The final of Navy Inter Command Cricket Champions 2023 was held at the Welisara Navy Cricket Ground on 04th May 2023. Commander Western Naval Area, Rear Admiral Suresh De Silva graced the final of the tournament, as the Chief Guest. After the final encounter of the tournament, the Western Naval Command has clinched the prestigious title of Inter-Command Cricket Champions.

The tournament's preliminary round matches were held from 19th April to 04th May 2023 under three groups namely A, B and C. The games were held in the cricket grounds of the Naval and Maritime Academy in Trincomalee, SLNS Shiksha in Poonewa and SLNS Nipuna in Boossa.

In group A, the Eastern, Afloat and Training Commands competed. Meanwhile, the Northern, Northwestern and North Central Commands were in group B. In addition, the Western, Southern and Southeastern Commands competed in group C. From the preliminary round the Eastern, Afloat, Northern, Northwestern, Western and Southern Commands were through to the second-round. On completion of the second-round matches, the Western, Eastern, Southern and Northern Commands were qualified to the semifinals.

The semi finals were held on 30th April and 01st May at the Welisara Navy Cricket Ground. In the first semifinal between the Western and Northern Naval Commands, the Western Naval Command was through to the final and the semifinal encounter between the Eastern and Southern Naval Commands was won by the Eastern Naval Command.

Accordingly, the final of the Inter Command Cricket Championship was held between the Western and Eastern Naval Commands. Batting first, the Eastern Naval Command put up 124/10 in 42.1 overs. For the Eastern Naval Command, its captain Lieutenant JR Tharindu scored 52 runs and Recruit WGRCM Ilangarathna of the Western Naval Command took 15/04 in 8.1 overs. In reply, the Western Naval Command reached the target in just 33.3 overs with the loss of 06 wickets. The captain of the Western Naval Command, Lieutenant MPH Perera scored 36 runs.

Meanwhile, Recruit WGRCM Ilangarathna of the Western Naval Command was named as the Man of the Match and the Best Bowler of the Final match. Leading Stores Assistant KBALR Perera, the Captain of the Eastern Naval Command was the Best Fielder of the final match for contributing to 08 dismissals behind the wicket. Further, Fleet Chief Petty Officer BAGIP Wijekumara was adjudged the Man of the Tournament and Best Player, for scoring 245 runs and taking 11 wickets in the tournament.

The prize awarding ceremony was held under the patronage of the Chief Guest and the Chairman of the Sri Lanka Navy Cricket Pool, Rear Admiral Jalaj Ponnamperuma. Director General Training Rear Admiral Rohitha Abeysinghe, Director General Personnel Rear Admiral Damian Fernando, Director Sports Commodore Roshan Athukorale and a group of officers and sailors of the Navy Headquarters and Western Naval Command were also present on this occasion.