Navy shines at 12th Defence Services Shooting Championship

The 12th Defence Services Shooting Championship was held at the Naval Small Bore Firing Complex, Welisara from 17th to 24th September 2023. The competition witnessed the Navy's marksmen and markswomen excel in various categories, securing top positions and earning accolades for their exceptional performances.

In an awe-inspiring display of skill and precision, the Navy won major honours in the IPSC and ISSF events.

In the IPSC event, Navy showcased its mastery, bringing home two championships in the Standard Division – one in the men's category and the other in the women's category. The Navy's dominance continued in the ISSF event, where the Navy shooters clinched top honours in 10m Air Rifle Team – men’s, 50m 3 x 20 Rifle Team – men and 50m 3 x 20 Rifle Team – women’s.

Meanwhile, Leading Infantryman HDP Kumara and Leading Seaman BMPL Dayananda left a lasting impression by winning the titles of the best male athlete in the overall rifle shooting event and standard pistol division respectively.

The prize awarding ceremony was attended by the Deputy Chief of Staff and Director General Operations, Rear Admiral Pradeep Rathnayake. Director Sports, Commodore Roshan Athukorala, Chairman Navy Musketry Pool, Commodore Manjula Dissanayake, officers and athletes from the tri-services were also present on this occasion.