Forty one (41) nursing students capped in memorable ceremony

In a proud and poignant setting, the Capping Ceremony of the intake of year 2022 of Naval Nurses’ Training School, SLNS Thakshila was held at the Admiral Somathilake Dissanayake Auditorium, SLNS Parakrama today (15th May 2023). The occasion saw forty one (41) nursing students from the Sri Lanka Navy and Air Force pledging of allegiance to the service in a ceremony graced by Commander of the Navy, Vice Admiral Priyantha Perera as the Chief Guest. Prof. SSP Warnakulasuriya, Dean Faculty of Nursing, University of Colombo attended the event as Guest of Honour. Naval Nurses’ Training School in Welisara, which serves as a crucial foundation for naval nurses, equipping them with the necessary skills, knowledge, and mindset is an institute accredited to the General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University (KDU).

During the prestigious ceremony, which marked a significant milestone in the lives of 31 Naval and 10 Air Force nursing students, customary proceedings were carried out by Director (Nursing Education) at Ministry of Health, Ms. Ashoka Abeynayaka, Director (Medical Services) Mrs. MBC Samanmalee, President and Registrar of the Sri Lanka Nursing Council, senior lecturers in the faculties of Allied Health Sciences of University of Sri Jayewardenepura, University of Colombo, University of Kelaniya and Kotelawala Defence University, Heads of the Colleges of Nursing – Kandana, Colombo and Kalutara and senior nursing tutors and Special Grade Chief Nursing Officers.

Meanwhile, Commander of the Navy, Vice Admiral Priyantha Perera presented the Medal of Excellence to the nursing students who secured the highest marks in different subjects at the first half yearly examination.

The Deputy Chief of Staff and Director General Operations, Rear Admiral Pradeep Rathnayake, Director Generals, Acting Director General Health Services, Commodore PJB Marambe, senior officers from the Navy Headquarters and Western Naval Command, flag ranking officers, and a group of officers from the Ministry of Health were also present on this occasion.